The 5 Love Languages (Part 5): Time



The 5 love languages is written by Dr. Gary Chapman and it entails the importance of being able to express love to your spouse in a way that your spouse can understand. Every human being has a love language and more times than not, your love language is not your partner’s love language. The 5 love languages include:
1. Words of Affirmation
2. Receiving Gifts
3. Acts of Service
4. Physical touch
5. Quality Time
Remember, every individual has a love language and until that love language is met by his/her partner, he/she doesn’t feel completely loved. Speaking in your spouse’s love language probably won’t be natural for you. Dr. Chapman says, “We’re not talking comfort, we’re talking love. Love is something we do for someone else. so often couples love one another but they aren’t connecting. They are sincere, but sincerity isn’t enough.”There is the primary (most important), secondary, tertiary love language because most individuals have more than one love language with varying importance. I discussed the love languages “Words of Affirmation”, “Receiving Gifts”, “Acts of Service” and “Physical Touch” in my last posts, let’s continue to the last:

5. Quality Time: This is simply the act of doing things with your partner whether you feel like it or not. Imagine dating a girl that loves shopping (as long its her money, you might not feel like it but spending time with her to go from shop to shop and getting what she desires could be a show of love on her behalf. Some spouses believe that being together, doing things together and focusing in on one another is the best way to show love.
There is something I don’t joke with and that is watching football and whenever I find a girl that can sit down with me and watch a premier league match (and support Manchester United o), to me there is nothing sexier. Then one day I had a very important match to watch, it was the FA Cup final between Arsenal and Manchester United in 2005, and my girlfriend wasn’t interested in watching the match with me and I couldn’t leave her alone so I had to make an option; I watch this important match and leave her all alone or I don’t watch this match and spend time with her. I chose to spend time with her although I was checking on the match once in a while. Spending quality time with your spouse could also include taking him/her to watch a movie, going for a stroll on the beach, going for a drink, watching her favorite show with her, spending time with her in the kitchen while she cooks, gossiping about her friends with her, spending time with her and her family and many more. Considering that fact that most married couples are money chasing all week, they get back late tired and hardly have time to spend together. Spending quality ‘me and you’ time with your spouse, without the kids and work is priceless. When I mean quality time, I am referring to giving your spouse undivided attention. Give your partner your time.

To read about the other 4 love languages, follow the links below:
1. Words of Affirmation:
2. Receiving Gifts:
3. Acts of Service:
4. Physical Touch:

To determine and understand your love language, please click on:

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Lesh J. says:

    That’s my primary love language too, with words of affirmation as secondary. Nothing melts my heart into a puddling that someone taking out time just for me…not even an expensive cut diamond can beat that. Only if most guys knew this…Lol! I love Dr. Chapman’s books 🙂

    1. You know want designer, you know want ferrari, you say na him love o. I can see your Davido’s type..*wink*. Carry go dearie

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s